I brought Mom to volunteer at the Book Box today while I came to the library and did some Southern Indiana Writers stuff.

When I went in to pick her up, she told me her cat would only sit on her lap in the bathroom, not in the living room. So I said, naturally, “Have you tried dropping your drawers in the living room?” She didn’t think that was a very good idea, and she hasn’t even tried it!

So then we got in the car. There were tire tracks close to the entrance to our drive, so Mom says, “You lay that rubber?”

“Sure,” I said. “I have drag races with the other quintanarians. I’m almost too old for the category. Next year I’ll be a sexagenarian. Be some fun next year! Ten years of it–man!”

Mom said, “I’ll be an octogenarian. What’s ninety?”

I said, “Nonogenarian.”

“Yeah? And after that, I’ll be a centurion.”

“Cool! Commander of Roman soldiers. That’s sooo cool.”

“Yeah. They talk about how people didn’t live long in the old days, but the Bible has lots of centurions in it.”

“True,” I said. “But they were all Romans. Must be that Mediterranean diet. All that olive oil.”

And that’s a typical conversation. See why I love to be with my Mom? See why I grew up to be the way I am?

MA

Writing prompt: How old are your main character’s parents? Are THEIR parents alive? How old are THEY? How do they get along and why?

