Okay, I’ve been working on an Angel Biscuit recipe, and this one worked pretty good. I might fine-tune it some, but this one did the job. Millions of thanks to Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, which got me hooked on refrigerator dough.

ANGEL BISCUITS – refrigerator methodangelbiscuits

  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 Tbs sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/4 tsp yeast (thinking about increasing this a bit)
  • 1 1/2 cup warm milk (or buttermilk)
  • 3 Tbs melted butter (or lard or margarine)

Measure dry ingredients into bowl. Heat milk and shortening (I use butter, but I would use lard if I could find leaf lard). Add warm milk/shortening to dry ingredients and stir to dissolve. Add flour and stir it together. Dough should be between a dough and a batter–too thick to stir easily, too wet to handle.

Put into clear container with a loose top and let rise until doubled–about an hour. Refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

When you’re ready to bake, flour a surface and tear off a wad of dough. It will be dry enough to handle now. If not, sprinkle with a little flour. Roll out to about 3/4 inch thick and cut, or shape with hands. Put on ungreased baking sheet and let rise about 1/2 hour. Preheat oven to 400F.

Top with a little butter and bake for 15-25 minutes, until risen and browned.

I’m thinking I’ll try rolling this out on a sugared board instead of a floured one, and making Chelsea Rolls–Honey Buns–Cinnamon Pinwheels.

MA

Writing prompt: What do your characters eat/remember/want on Sunday morning?

