Those who know me are well aware that I am not–Not what, kids?…Now let’s not see the same hands–Not a vegetarian, that’s right. If I were trapped in Jurassic Park and a dinosaur came running toward me, I wouldn’t be going, “Pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death,” I would be going, “Thank you for these, thy gifts, which we are about to receive from thy bounty.” I could start a fire from the friction of rubbing my hands together in gleeful anticipation.

But I love veggies, too, and most of the time our meals are most or all veg, just because we like it that way.veg

The other night, I wanted yeast biscuits, so I made up a batch. I cut the recipe from Serves 12 to Serves 2, and it didn’t cut very well and turned out too wet to roll out, so I made drop biscuits. They weren’t quite what I was looking for, but they were REALLY GOOD anyway. If I find a recipe I like, I’ll post it here, or a link to it.

So anyway, this is a biscuit, hominy, stewed tomatoes, and a casserole of potatoes and cabbage with mild cheddar cheese. A good, country meal–the kind I would have sat in front of as a kid until my butt went numb before I’d eat it. If you can follow that sentence, more power to you.

Mom and I are going to the Hong Kong Buffet (I think that’s the name now) for lunch. I’ll come out looking like the Buddha. Of course, I’ll GO IN looking like the Buddha….

I’m told my writing class, limited to 18, is full and has a waiting list. I only hope I have something of worth to offer them.

MA

Writing prompt: If you were going to teach a writing class, what’s the first thing you’d teach?

