In the 60s-70s there was a saying:

Use it up
Wear it out
Make it do
Do without

I’ve been baking these wonderful German hard rolls, thanks to ARTISAN BREAD IN 5 MINUTES A DAY, and they take egg whites. I can’t throw the yolks away, I don’t care if they’re high in cholesterol. They’re from our #2 daughter’s chickens, and I just can’t throw them away.

I was also waiting for a nurse to call me back with the answer to a question which she said she would do in 15 minutes. So after an hour and a half, I thought, “The hell with this. I know a trick worth two of that one.” Whenever you need somebody to call you, just get involved with something that’s better off not being interrupted. Sure enough, just as the milk came on the boil, she called. As they say in the Household Hints columns, “Works like a charm every time!”

So I looked up recipes for egg yolks, and I had some strawberries, so I decided to make a chocolate custard sauce. It’s so easy, even I can do it. I also had some Abuelita chocolate, so I was good to go.

ABUELITA CUSTARD AND STRAWBERRIESabuelita-custard

  • 1 1/2 rounds of Abuelita chocolate
  • about 4-6 egg yolks
  • 2 cups milk
  • strawberries, washed, hulled and cut up

Heat the milk and chocolate until the chocolate is melted. Stirring continuously, bring to a boil. Pour over the egg yolks in a thin stream, stirring all the time. Cool. Put the strawberries into pretty bowls or custard cups or wine glasses and spoon the custard over.

I went pretty heavy on the custard because I’m like that about chocolate, but that’s just me.

MA

Writing prompt: A character is in the middle of something better off not being interrupted and is interrupted. Write it twice: once funny and once not funny–sad or life-alteringly bad.

