Relax, I’m talking about food.

Last night, I decided I wanted something sweet, maybe some Chelsea Buns, and I was too lazy to look up the recipe, so I think I got it right, but who knows?

Ever since I bought ARTISAN BREAD IN 5 MINUTES A DAY, I’ve kept a container of bread dough in the refrigerator. So last night I ripped off a wad, formed it into a rough oval, put it on abuns sugared board, sprinkled sugar on the top, and rolled it into a rectangle. I melted some butter and stirred in some brown sugar and some chopped pecans and spread that over the rectangle, rolled it up and sliced it into rounds. I buttered a square pan and put the buns in. I wish I had sliced a LITTLE thinner, so the buns would have been snug and would have been all square, but I didn’t. Anyway, I let them rise for about 20 minutes while the oven heated to 375F. Meanwhile, I melted some MORE butter and mixed in some honey (local–from a friend who keeps bees) and cinnamon and spooned that over the buns. Baked for about half an hour, until the buns were puffed up and browned on top.

They were gooooooood. Next time, I might actually read the directions.

MA

Writing prompt: Go to a local honey producer and ask about beekeeping. Better yet, see if they’ll take you on a tour of the hives. It’s amazing. Bees lead lives full of adventure and danger.

