I got home last night RIGHT in time to start supper, which meant I needed something I could make without much time or effort. So I made this:

PASTA WITH CHICKEN SAUCE

  • pasta (I used wide egg noodles)
  • frozen chicken breast
  • canned or frozen peas
  • mushrooms (I did not have any, alas, but I thought of them and would use them if I had them)
  • butter
  • flour
  • milk
  • Parmesan or mixed Italian cheeses

Slap the frozen chicken onto a low-fat grill and cook for about 7-10 minutes. Remove chicken and cut into small pieces. Cook the pasta, drain it and toss it with a little garlic-flavored olive oil. In the same pan, with no butter or oil, dry-cook chopped mushrooms until they’re browned and nutty-scented. For each cup of sauce, add a little more than one Tablespoon butter. Add salt, pepper, and any other herbs or spices you like. For each Tb of butter you added, add one Tb of flour. Stir until all the flour is coated and cook for a minute or two. For each Tb of flour, add a little less than one cup of milk. Add peas and chicken and stir until sauce is thickened. Divide noodles into bowls or plates and top with sauce. Grate Parmesan over the top or sprinkle with mixed Italian cheeses.

Then I wanted dessert to take to tea with Mom, so I made these. Back in the day, cupcakes were called Cup Cakes because you measured the ingredients in a cup. This proportion makes a denser product than you may be used to–kind of a cross between cake and sweet bread. Needs no icing.

INSANELY EASY CUPCAKES

one cup of everything makes one dozen cupcakes

  • eggs
  • flour
  • solftened butter
  • sugar

Mix and divide into 12 greased or lined cupcake … thingies. Bake at 375 for about 20-25 minutes or until puffed up and golden brown on top.

MA

writing prompt: Do your characters eat dessert? What do they like? What do they hate? What do they do when confronted at a friend’s house with something they hate?

