Not really.

Okay, I have GOT to stop lying in my post titles.

Anyway, I did go to a wine-making class last evening at Basic Beginnings. They have bulk grains and beans and spices, soap-making supplies, fabric, books, all kinds of stuff. Long-time readers may remember the time I tried to make cherry wine and ended up with cherry glop. I was going to link to that post, but I can’t find it.

This wine she was making was “old-fashioned farm wine”, meaning she put the apples/pears through a wood-chipper (a clean one, not one she’d put her accomplice through) and then through her juicer. Put in the results, pulp and seeds and stems and all, whatever the juicer didn’t cull out. Made five gallons. It only took her about 15 minutes to go from pulped fruit to wine in the container ready to work for two weeks prior to being drained into the carbouy. The carbouy is a big clear container with an air-lock that keeps fruit flies out and releases excess gasses. I like quick and easy, but I need another lesson before I feel comfortable making something that’s going to sit around for months and then be consumed.

Nathan, of Cellar on the Square, is going to have a class, and I think I’ll go to that one, too.

Okay, so the Safari is this: I’m reading OUT OF AFRICA by Isak Dinesen (Karen Blixen). Naturally, what I thought of when I picked up the book was when our older girls and I watched the Meryl Streep movie. Our youngest was only about three, and the older girls played and replayed the first few minutes of voice-over for her. Over and over and over. Innocent little parrot that she was, for weeks she greeted everyone by saying (in a perfect Danish accent, because she learned it from Meryl Streep), “I hahd a fahrm een Ahfreeka at the fooot of the Eenkong heells.” People looked at this curly headed blonde tot as if she were somewhat strange. When I tried to explained, “She’s been watching OUT OF AFRICA,” they looked at ME as if I were somewhat strange. Fine.

I’ve been talking to the library about the class I’m going to lead on creative writing. Will post more details tomorrow.

MA

Writing prompt: Make a list of great first lines. No fair using “Call me Ishmael” from Moby Dick.

