It was cold and snowy yesterday, and I had a taste for chili. We don’t eat ground beef, and Charlie doesn’t eat beef at all, so regular chili was out. I considered making vegetarian chili, but I bought a couple of packages of cooked chicken strips last week that were burning a hole in my freezer, so I added some of those. Here is a recipe for vegetarian white chili with optional meat additives.

WHITE CHILI–VEGETARIAN AND OTHERWISE

  • Cooked spaghetti  YES, I said SPAGHETTI! Around here, we eat chili with SPAGHETTI in it! YES, I said, YES!
  • 1 can white beans (I used Great Northern)
  • 1 can water
  • 1 tsp boullion powder (vegetable or chicken)
  • 1/2 Tb garlic-infused olive oil
  • 1/2 Tb butter
  • 1 Tb flour
  • chili powder
  • cumin
  • pepper

Heat oil and butter. Add chili powder, cumin and pepper and stir to toast. Add flour and stir a couple of minutes. Add beans. Mash them a little. Add water and boullion powder. Heat, stirring, until slightly thickened and bubbly. Add cooked cubed chicken, if you are NOT A VEGETARIAN.

MA

Writing prompt: Pick a character you’ve written but don’t know very well and need to. What does your character like to eat on a cold snowy day?

