I’m now out of the splint and into an elastic wrist brace, fighting infection in the leg, and Charlie comes in and says, “The dog is back.” This being the dog who knocked me down and who, we were assured, had been relocated. He had actually been at the vet. His daddy came and got him, and went home with his dog and an earful from my husband. Now the man says he’s taking the dog to another town. I want the dog to be well and happy, I just don’t want to go ass-over-tip because of him again. I would hate to sue him, because most dogs don’t have any money.

I’m going to Louisville today to have lunch with Jane. Last time I went, I met a couple of women who were doing a tree survey. There are more people doing things you never thought of than… well, than you ever thought of.

Today is clear and cold, brilliantly sunny and just a few vaporous clouds in an otherwise blue sky. The air is so clean, you can see every needle on the evergreens.

Plans for 2009:

  • finish BAR SINISTER, my NaNoWriMo novel
  • query agents on novels I’ve already finished
  • write and sell some stories
  • plan 2009’s NaNoWriMo novel
  • do NaNoWriMo
  • live within my means

MA

Writing prompt: How would three different characters deal with a persistent and potentially dangerous annoyance?

