Merry Christmas to all! I opened my presents last night. These were from my bestest Pal, fellow writer Pat Stackhouse. In our family, we don’t give presents to grownups, we donate money to the Heifer Project and the local Community Services, instead, but Pat and I exchange presents, as do Jane and I.

Today, I’m taking a toasted almond spread.

First, the recipe as it’s written, and then the one I’m making.

TOASTED ALMOND PARTY SPREAD

  • 1 8-oz pkg cream cheese, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups (6 oz) shredded Swiss cheese
  • 1/3 cup Miracle Whip salad dressing
  • 2 Tbs chopped green onion
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds, toasted

Preheat oven to 350F. Combine all ingredients. Mix well. Spread mixture into 9-inch pie plate or quiche dish. Bake for 15 minutes, stirring after 8 minutes. Garnish with additional toasted almonds, if desired. Serve with assorted crackers or toasted bread cut-outs.

I’ll probably mix Swiss and Muenster cheeses, since I have both. I’ll use mayonnaise rather than salad dressing, because I like mayonnaise and loathe salad dressing. I don’t have any chopped green onion. I’m putting in about 1 cup frozen spinach, defrosted. I don’t have sliced almonds, I have slivered almonds, so that’s what I’ll use. I’ll probably bake it in my handy-dandy toaster oven, as I do most anything I bake.

MA

Writing prompt: What did your character get for Christmas? What did he/she WANT to get? What is his/her greatest Christmas disappointment? Greatest Christmas memory? Favorite present ever?

