I’ve finished my holiday sweet-making, which isn’t much of an achievement, since I only make four things. Still, I made them. I already posted my Springerle and Fruitcake recipes, and here are the other two.

I got my Bourbon ball recipe from Mrs. Downey, who lived next door to us for many years. She lost an arm to diabetes, but she still sewed and cooked and you-name-it. She made these every year, and now I do–if nothing interferes with me.

bourbon-balls

BOURBON BALLS

For centers:
6 cups (one 2lb bag) confectioner’s sugar
1 stick butter
1/3 cup Bourbon
1 cup chopped walnuts
whole walnuts for topping–not a WHOLE walnut, obviously, just one unbroken piece of walnut meat

Cream butter and sugar. Add Bourbon, fold in nuts. Work together until thoroughly blended. Cover with wax paper. Refrigerate 24 hours.

Make into 1-inch balls or smaller, place on wax paper on cookie sheet and refrigerate again to make firm.

For coating:
8 squares semi-sweet chocolate
1 Tb paraffin wax (plain white wax, like you use to seal jelly)
2 Tbs butter, more if needed to make the coating liquid enough

[Note: This is never enough. I recommend making two batches of coating.]

Melt in double boiler over hot water (Do not let chocolate boil). Dip one center at a time. Place on wax paper, put walnut on top. Refrigerate.

Makes around 100 at about 60 calories each.

As usual, the one batch of coating wasn’t enough. I didn’t have any more semi-sweet chocolate, so I used unsweetened chocolate and added about a cup of powdered sugar. Then, also as usual, there was some coating left over. I tossed in some pecans, almonds and walnuts and a glob of orange marmalade, and dropped that mixture by the teaspoonful onto wax paper. GOOD!

pecan-balls

I’ve seen these called Snowflake Cookies, Danish or Czechoslovakian or Mexican Wedding Cookies, Russian Teacakes…. Our #3 daughter calls them Pecan Balls, which is a better name than any of the others.

DANISH COOKIES

1 stick butter
3 Tbs powdered sugar
1 cup sifted flour
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup chopped pecans
about 1/4 cup powdered sugar to roll cooked cookies in

Mix all but last ingredient, probably using hands. Roll into 1-inch balls. Bake at 250F for 1/2 hour. Cool slightly, then roll in powdered sugar.

[Note: Better make a double batch–they don’t last long!]

One batch makes about 24 at about 70 calories each.

I haven’t eaten all the sweets yet, but I’m working on it.

MA

Writing prompt: What is a holiday sweet recipe your character remembers from childhood? Where did it come from? Does he/she still make it or crave it every year? Have a forgotten favorite holiday sweet suddenly come back to memory and have him/her act on that.

