Okay, first, I remembered what I forgot to post yesterday. At the SIW Christmas party, long-time member Mary Gehant-Lagunez came with her husband, Mario, who is from Mexico, and I got a chance to practice my Spanish a little bit. I said, “Good evening” and “It’s cold” and “Are you hungry? Are you thirsty?” and “Very good!” Mario was astounded–the last time he saw me, the only Spanish words I knew were “Hola”, “Adios” and “bodega”. ha!

Now. The paper (Courier-Journal) had this recipe:

Chicken satay bites

  • 1 quart chicken broth
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground white pepper
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 2 Tbs soy sauce
  • 2 Tbs toasted sesame oil
  • 3 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch chunks
  • Bottled peanut dipping sauce
  • 20 oil-packed sun-dried tomato halves, cut into strips
  • 40 small balls of fresh mozzarella
  • 40 short bamboo skewers or toothpicks
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 1 Tbs chopped fresh cilantro

Heat the broiler. Place a rack in the center of the oven.

In a large, deep, oven-safe skillet, whisk together the broth, cumin, garlic powder, white pepper, ginger, paprika, soy sauce and sesame oil. Bring the mixture to a simmer over medium-high heat.

Add the chicken, and stir to arrange the chunks in an even layer in the broth mixture. The tops of the chicken pieces should just barely stick out of the liquid; this allows the chicken to brown.

Place the skillet under the broiler. After 5 minutes, stir, then broil for another 5 minutes, or until lightly browned.

Pool or drizzle the peanut sauce on a serving platter.

To assemble the skewers, top each piece of chicken with a strip of sun-dried tomato and 1 ball of mozzarella.

Skewer each stack, then arrange them on the serving platter.

Sprinkle the skewers with black pepper and chopped cilantro.

Serves 40.

First, there aren’t 40 of us, there are two. Second, this recipe has about three times the number of ingredients and twice the number of steps I like to see in a recipe. Third, one color of pepper ought to be enough for anybody. And fourth, like I have an oven-safe skillet.

So here’s mine:

MomGoth’s Slacker Chicken Satay for Two

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut in two
  • 1 cup water plus 1 tsp chicken boullion
  • garlic powder
  • ground ginger
  • paprika
  • salt and pepper
  • soy sauce
  • sesame oil

Since I was reducing this recipe from 1 quart liquid to 1 cup liquid, and since I do math like I do ironing, I just knocked in these ingredients until it felt and smelled right. Turned it to high until it started to boil, then turned it to simmer and put the chicken in. After about 10 minutes, I turned the chicken over. After another 10 minutes, I put in some leftover alu mattar (see previous post) and some instant rice. When it was all hot through and the rice had absorbed all the liquid, I scraped it into two plates and we ate it with bread.

It was GOOD!

Writing prompt: What’s in your character’s spice rack? Are they jumbled, or are they organized? Alphabetized?

