Katya (The Relatively Good One)

Katya (The Relatively Good One)

Al (The Incredibly Bad One)

Al (The Incredibly Bad One)

Al started singing his little “Iz in ur ______, doin sumpin I shudnt” song yesterday. I followed the music and found him in my closet anointing my bedroom slippers. Now, it’s one thing to whizz all over stuff that doesn’t belong on the floor, but slippers ought to be off limits. I’m cutting him some slack, since he’s 16 1/2, and you know how teenagers are. But slippers? Is nothing sacred?

Charlie blocked off the basement last night and we put both cats down there. Poor little Katya had to go, too, since we both felt guilty for putting Al down there. Al would probably have preferred NOT to have her with him, since they never have gotten along. He’s happy now, upstairs in front of the fireplace soaking up the heat.

Meanwhile, I washed my slippers thoroughly and hung them on a hanger to dry. I suppose that’s how I’ll have to store them from now on. Suddenly, we’re Shakers–EVERYTHING OFF THE FLOOR! No, the Shakers’ most famous song is “‘Tis the Gift to be Simple” and nothing’s ever simple around here….

MA

Writing prompt: How does your character deal with an aging pet?

