I was fighting a cold yesterday, so I was in the mood for something hot and easy. This is always my choice for that (this or soup…or mac and cheese…or….).

Butter a casserole. Break up bread in it. Stale is fine, toast is good. Anything but sweet. I used stale hard rolls from a couple of days ago. Break two eggs into a measuring cup and fill with milk to the one-cup line (I got that measurement from Julia Childe). Put in some nutmeg, salt and pepper, and some mustard, if you like mustard. I do, Charlie doesn’t, so sometimes I put some in and sometimes I don’t. Mix that all up good and pour it over the bread. Let it alone for about half an hour, so the liquid soaks into the bread. If you eat meat, sprinkle on some meat. I used ham. Sometimes I use chicken, sometimes pre-cooked bacon, sometimes veggies, sometimes mushrooms, sometimes all of the above. Sprinkle with cheese. Last night, I used an Italian mix, but sometimes I use mild cheddar. Anything’s good. Cover and bake for about 45 minutes at 350F, then uncover and bake another 15 minutes or so, until the top is bubbly. I like the cheese to be toasty brown, but our #4 daughter (Hi, Sara!) doesn’t like crusty cheese, so I don’t uncover it when she’s going to eat this with us.

I also made some frozen lima beans this way: Put salt, pepper and dill weed into about 1 cup of water and let it sit for about 20 minutes to rehydrate the dill. Brought it to a boil. Put in some frozen lima beans, brought back to a boil, covered, turned down the heat and simmered for about 20-25 minutes. They came out SO good and flavorful and creamy, you’d have sworn they were fresh!

While I was at it, I made some coconut chai (just a teabag, not a Recipe) and topped it up with Bourbon. Nothing like a hot toddy to pick you up on a cold winter night. I feel great this morning. The cold hasn’t been born that can hold its own against Jim Beam Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey.

MA

Writing prompt: What does your character do/eat/drink to fight a cold?

