We went to the Community Unity Christmas party and I took Alu Mattar. This is the dish I posted about where I started with making ghee, then grated the ginger and garlic to make the curry…. I’m not usually so painstaking; I can’t think what got into me.

Anyway, here’s the recipe, and it’s really quite easy. It must be, or I wouldn’t have made it.

Curried Potatoes and Peas (Alu Mattar)

1/4 cup (60 ml) ghee (see recipe below)
1 Tbs (15 ml) finely chopped fresh ginger
1 Tbs (15 ml) finely chopped garlic
1/2 cup (125 ml) finely chopped onion or shallots
Salt to taste
1 tsp (5 ml) ground cumin
1/2 tsp (2 ml) turmeric
1/4 tsp (1 ml) cayenne pepper, or to taste
3 medium tomatoes, finely chopped
2 10-ounce (280 g each) packages frozen green peas
1 large potato, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch (1 cm) cubes
1 cup (250 ml) water
3 Tbs (45 ml) finely chopped cilantro (coriander leaves)
1/2 tsp (2 ml) garam masala (see recipe below)

Heat the ghee in a heavy pot over moderate heat until it is very hot.
Add the ginger and garlic and cook for 30 seconds. Add the onion and
salt and cook, stirring frequently, until the onion is soft and golden
brown, about 8 minutes. Stir in the cumin, turmeric, and cayenne,
followed by the tomatoes. Cook, stirring frequently, until most of
the liquid has evaporated and the mixture forms a thick paste, about 5
minutes. Add the peas and tomatoes and stir to coat them with the
tomato mixture. Stir in the water and bring to a boil, stirring
frequently. Reduce the heat and simmer covered for 10 minutes, until
the potatoes are tender. Sprinkle with chopped cilantro and garam
masala and serve immediately. Serves 4 to 6.

Our dear friend Jackie was there. She’s undergoing chemo and all her hair has fallen out, so she brought a bag of Christmas bows and invited us to give her some holiday hair. Here she is, all festived up.

jackie

LOVE YOU, JACKIE!!

Then, on Friday, I went to lunch in Louisville. We were going to Bourbon’s Bistro, but they’re only open for dinner, so boo-hoo for us. We went to Crave, instead, which we LOVE anyway.

crave

They have the BEST home made soups and sandwiches! Jane got a cheesy broccoli soup and a Creole sandwich called something like Bamm, I’m Good. I got cream of chicken and rice soup and a veggie sandwich–just a few raw vegetables on sourdough bread with Benedictine spread, but it was SO GOOD! This is on Frankfort Avenue, across the street from Bourbon’s, Java Brewing coffee shop and my beloved Irish Rover.

While we were waiting to cross the street, I met these ladies who claim they were doing a tree survey. If you ask me, they were casing the joints, but they say they were surveying trees. huh! I’ve never had a tree answer so much as ONE QUESTION I’ve ever asked, and they want me to believe they’re getting trees to take whole surveys? I don’t think so.

treeladies

Anyway, on Saturday, Mom and I worked the Friends of the Library Book Box book sale and then Southern Indiana Writers had a book signing. Most members were sick and only three of us showed up, but we had a great time, as always, and sold some books. Here are Jeannine Baumgartle, Joy Brown Kirchgessner, self and The Mysterious Mr. B, who said, “You’re not going to put this on the internet or anything, are you?” I assured him I was, but you never know when somebody might be on the lam, so I blurred his face for his own protection. Of course, it might just be that he didn’t want to be seen in our company…. Nah!

signing1MA

Writing prompt: What questions would you ask a tree?

