Busy. With Christmas coming, there’s a lot to do. I made Alu Mattar for the Community Unity Christmas party, beginning with making ghee. It turned out really well, but it made SO MUCH! The recipe said it serves 6, but that must mean 6 HEARTY appetites with no other food and they haven’t eaten in a week. Alu Mattar, by the way, is curried peas and potatoes cooked in a tomato-based sauce. VERY buttery, due to the ghee.

I had always heard that ghee tasted different from plain butter, and it’s true–quite different, and in a very nice way. You melt some unsalted butter in a saucepan. Then turn up the heat to boiling until froth comes up on top. Then turn down the heat to its lowest setting, stir the froth back into the liquid and leave it for a while. The recipe I had said 45 minutes, but it was also for a whole pound of butter and I only used one stick (1/4 pound). I checked after 30 minutes, and I think it was just a smidge overdone. What happens is that the froth, which is protein, sinks to the bottom and toasts, which gives the clear part a nice nutty sort of taste. Cool it a little, then strain it through several layers of cheesecloth. My recipe says to strain out all little brown bits, no matter how tiny, but these old eyes didn’t see any bits in what I poured into the storage jar–until I put it in a pan to cook with it. So maybe it affected the taste of the dish, having those bits in, but it was still good.

MA
writing prompt: your character tries a new recipe and makes a mistake

