When we built this house (“we”–Charlie and friends built it and I kept out of the way), we made it big, to fit the four kids in. Now the kids are gone and… the house is still big. Rather than heat an empty upstairs, Charlie puts a door up at the foot of the stairway to keep the warmth down where we are. Over the years, his doors have gotten less makeshift, until, this year, he bought some bi-fold doors at a yard sale. Then he had to go to the hardware store to get some tracks for them. The bought tracks were incompatible with the yard-sale doors, but he futzed around with them and got them to work. If hardware were nations, he would be a world-class diplomat. The doorway is tall, the doors are tall, he had to get the five-foot stepladder to do the work.

The work is done. Guess where the stepladder is? Out of his way… in the middle of the front room. The work has been done for days, yet the stepladder lingers on. I’m getting used to it. I’m looking forward to decorating it for Christmas. You think I’m kidding, but I’m not. I would put multi-colored lights up and down the legs and sit ornaments on the treads. Maybe punch holes in Christmas cards and hang them off it. Won’t that be fun? If I get to do it, I’ll take a picture of it.

I made it to 30,000 words on my NaNoWriMo novel! Having a wonderful time. 🙂

MA

Writing Prompt: What does your least handy character do when a project needs to be done? If you have a very handy character, what would he/she do if a project had to be done quickly and he/she couldn’t do it?

