Well, I give up–this post is determined to look weird. Forgive me.

Okay, so I went to the book sale building yesterday, and these are the books I got:

DOMESTIC MANNERS OF THE AMERICANS by Frances Trollope, edited, with a history of Mrs. Trollope’s adventures in America by Donald Smalley

This is a 1974 reprint of a book first published in 1832, written by Anthony Trollope’s mother. According to the Introduction, Mrs. Trollope was not favorably impressed and her impressions were not well received in this country. I anticipate reading this book with great relish.

THE ILLUSTRATED PORTRAIT OF YORK by Ronald Willis, Illustrated by Graham Hards

York, England celebrated its 1,900th birthday in 1971. I repeat: York, England celebrated its 1,900th birthday in 1971. This book, published in 1972, gives the history of of the town with line drawings and photographs. Great for research!

Then I went to Destinations Booksellers and got:

MERCY AMONG THE CHILDREN by David Adams Richards

This book won the Giller Prize (Canada’s most prestigious literary award). He’s compared to Tolstoy, Camus, Melville and Thomas Hardy. Since I love all those writers, this looked like a damn good bet.

TERMS OF ENDEARMENT by Larry McMurtry

I didn’t know Larry McMurtry wrote TERMS OF ENDEARMENT! I totally loved the movie, and I usually (almost invariably) like the book better than the movie, even if the book is a novelization (this isn’t a novelization, I’m just sayin’), so I snapped this one up.

SALAMANDER by Thomas Wharton

Wharton’s first novel, ICEFIELDS, won a couple of Canadian book prizes, and he is compared to Umberto Eco, Jorge Luis Borges and Italo Calvino. I mean–dang!

THE LIGHTNING THIEF by Rick Riordan, being book one of the PERCY JACKSON & THE OLYMPIANS series

I know it’s a children’s book, shut up. My youngest daughter, who works at Borders, read it and loved it. She has books two and three and loaned them to me, and now I can read them ’cause I have book one. The premise is brilliant–that all these learning disabled children are dyslexic and so on because they’re actually children of one mortal and one Olympian God. Who can read English when you’re genetically coded to read Ancient Greek?

So I have a lot of good reading to look forward to during these long winter evenings.

MA

writing prompt: What does your main character do on long winter evenings? What does your “bad guy” do?

