No, I’m not channeling Ray Milland, and I’m not finding bottles of booze in my light fixtures, I’m just saying I didn’t get any work done this weekend. Busy all day yesterday, all day today.

This morning, the guests got up long before the crack o’ dawn and Charlie and I made breakfast. We had eaten all the canned biscuits–which Charlie prefers above all others–so I made buttermilk biscuits (recipe follows). Then our company left. I must say, I didn’t look forward to a houseful of guys, but this was a wonderful visit. The only thing that would have improved it would have been if one of them liked football.

Yesterday, they all came in town for my signing, then we went to Olga’s Mexican restaurant on the square and then they went to a piano concert in Louisville, meeting our #2 daughter and her husband and another friend there.

It’s good to have our house and quiet back, but I sure wish they lived closer so we could all get together more often. So much good talk, so much good spirits, so much friendship–it was a weekend to treasure.

Anyway, then I went to church and then I went to MOM’S church, for their Thanksgiving fund-raiser turkey dinner, which couldn’t be beat.

Mom and I went to Destinations Booksellers in New Albany. They’re having a birthday, and were giving discounts on anything bought this weekend. I got some books which I’ll list tomorrow. They’re carrying DYING IN A WINTER WONDERLAND, so I also checked to see if I needed to bring any more in or pick unsold copies up. We were copacetic, so Mom and I moved on. On consideration, we skipped a couple of other errands we had contemplated and went home.

I don’t know what she did, but I flopped on the couch and napped for two hours. Another big day tomorrow and another on Tuesday, but I have good intentions of getting back in the groove and chugging out some good words for NaNoWriMo. I’m WAY behind on my word count goal now, but I believe I can catch up.

Oh–the recipe:

BUTTERMILK BISCUITS (free today–special reference for R&B fans)

  • 2 cups all-purpose (regular) flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 to 1 cup buttermilk

Heat oven to 450F. Mix dry ingredients. Cut butter into dry ingredients until the mixture looks like meal. Stir in almost all the buttermilk. Add more if necessary. Dough should be soft but workable. Put flour onto a board and knead dough lightly 20 to 25 times, about 1/2 minute. Roll 1/2 inch thick. Cut with floured biscuit cutter. Place on ungreased baking sheet. Top with dots of butter. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown.

MA

Writing prompt: Three of your characters spend the weekend WITH YOU. What do you do? What do you talk about? What do you eat? If you go somewhere, where do you go? How do you feel about each and all of them when it’s all over?

