Sometime in 2005 or 2006, my mother and I went to the Muhammad Ali Center in Louisville because we heard he was going to be there and he’s always been a hero of ours. So we went, and he was there and my mother went up and shook his hand and I got her picture.

Then they told us Barack Obama was going to arrive in a few minutes. Mom was like, “Who’s that?” I was jumping up and down. “He’s that guy who gave that speech at the convention last year.” She remembered–OF COURSE!

So he did show up and I was one of the people who stuck my hand out to him. He shook it. This very hand.

hand

I said, “I’m looking forward to voting for you for president some day.” He said, “Thank you, sweetheart.”

And I did.

MA

Writing prompt: If you could shake hands with anybody and say one short sentence to him/her, living or dead, who would it be and what would you say?

