Like I needed another one. I’ve signed up for NaNoWriMo–National Novel Writing Month. I have pledged to write 50,000 words by November 30. I must be out of my mind. No, I’m not. This will be an exercise for the most atrophied writing muscles I have–the spontaneity muscles. I always want my sentences to come out pretty, my paragraphs to be concise and rounded–I want my first draft to write like a third draft. Consequently, I write very, very slowly. I need something to force me to just rip it out. This blog has helped some with that, and maybe it’s limbered me up. Maybe I got into blogging as a way to warm up for this marathon. Again, I have Leslea Harmon to thank, who is now one of my FaceBook friends. Leslea–love ya, gal, and thanks again for all your encouragement and advice. Everybody needs a friend who will tell you where you can improve, and do it in a way that actually helps you do it!

So now I have to write next week’s Chronicles and, if I can, some in advance so I don’t have them hanging over my head all month.

Excited! Scared! Exhilarated! Ready to go!

MA

writing prompt: One of your characters is given a negative critique on something he/she thought he/she was doing well. How does he/she react? Does he/she accept the actually extremely helpful comments, resent them, ignore them…?

