First, a couple of things I forgot yesterday. Leah was giving away these packets. She had them distributed around the room in bowls and told everybody to take one. Different years, she has different things. One year, she had hand-made paper bookmarks with sayings written on them in calligraphy, and you could have the calligrapher write your name on the other side. One year, she had rocks with words attached to them (I’ll put up a picture of the one I got another time).

Mom and I were wondering on the way home what was in the packets.

I thought maybe there were different kinds of seeds in different packets–maybe seeds Leah had left over from her spring planting, or maybe seeds from plants in her garden. I’m told she has a wonderful hosta garden, so maybe hosta seeds?

Mom was certain they were hyacinth bean seeds. Hyacinth beans make a very pretty plant, with little purple flowers that mature into purple pods. I don’t think the beans are edible, but the plant, flowers and pods are very pretty.

So we got home and opened our packets and they contained–seed beads! *laughing* I make jewelry out of beads, so OF COURSE I’ll have to make something out of Leah’s beads to wear to next year’s art show. There aren’t enough to make a whole string, and not a good selection to make a pair of earrings, but I could do a necklace pendant with them, maybe. It’ll be fun to use my imagination and see what I can come up with that’ll make her laugh next year.

I also forgot to post one of the pictures I took. Leah had several of these–I think she called them wrapped fencing. She said next year she might just do a bunch of these, not for sale but just to do them and put them out on the lawn and do a “garden tour” through them. Leah, how about a labyrinth? Anyway, here’s the picture:

Doesn’t do it justice, but it gives you a little idea. These are gorgeous, take my word for it.

So here’s the piece I bought. First, the tag:

The piece is so much more beautiful and intriguing than my pictures can show. The way the light plays on the beads, the way the “branches” bog and sway with a touch, the way the “fruit” dangles and turns–none of that really shows up well, but that can’t be helped. I’ve never seen a piece of art in person that wasn’t beyond telling better than any picture of it. Leah would want me to draw your attention to the one red bead hanging off the end of one of the “fruits”. It’s important.

So there it is. My happy little sculpture, which will be on my happy little desk as soon as I clear my happy little office of all the happy little crap that has invaded it over the years. I’m getting there. I’m getting there.

MA

writing prompt: What is the biggest question that perplexes your character? This should not be a goal the character is trying to figure out how to achieve (how can I get that promotion), but a question (who is my real mother, why is there air).

