I don’t think I ever did post this recipe, which is the cake I asked for at my birthday party. This was my late grandfather’s (George Kelley Leister) recipe. When my late grandmother (Ruby Goodman Leister) had a heart attack thirty-some years ago, he took over the shopping and cooking and decided he liked it. He and I used to go to the grocery together once a week and traded recipes. He had some good ones. This is one of my favorites:

SOCK IT TO ME CAKE

  • 1 box butter cake mix
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 stick margarine or butter
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1 cup nuts
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Mix together the first 7 ingredients. Beat well, pour half of the batter into the pan. Mix brown sugar and cinnamon together. Sprinkle over batter in pan; then pour the remaining batter in pan.

Bake at 350F until done, about 40-50 minutes.

This is SO GOOD!

MA

writing prompt: What are your characters’ favorite desserts?

