Yet another of my friends has won a bout with breast cancer. Lumpectomy, mastestectomy, bilateral and double mastectomies…. One had total reconstruction, others have not. One stuffed the empty cup of her bra with a colorful scarf and let the end hang out like a flag of victory. They all faced their choices with deliberation and courage. They’re amazing Amazons.

I don’t let a day go by without clicking on The Breast Cancer Site, which donates free mammograms to women who couldn’t otherwise afford them.

I also highly recommend Sheri L. Wright’s wonderful book of poetry, NUNS SHOOTING GUNS, especially her celebration of breast cancer survival, “Cut Flowers”. I bought my copy the other day at Destinations Booksellers in New Albany, Indiana. They have an online purchase site, too, which is cool.

Here’s to you, ladies.

MA

Writing prompt: Someone you care for faces breast cancer.

