Straight-line winds of up to 75 miles an hour roared up through here. This is supposed to be Tornado Alley, not Hurricane Road! Tore up a lot of roofs and siding, broke trees to pieces or uprooted them completely, and knocked out a lot of folks’ power, including ours. This tree is still leaning across the driveway. I’m terrified, every time I have to walk or drive under it. My husband assures me that it won’t fall, it’s held up by the tree it fell on. Since he walks under it, too, I screw my courage to the sticking place and go on as if it weren’t there.

Our power went out on Sunday at about 1 in the afternoon. I expected it to come back on soon, because our electric company, REMC, is excellent and wicked fast at repairs. Then we heard that most of the county was down, so we didn’t expect to be back up anytime soon. It ended up being a couple of days–about 60 hours or so. Meanwhile, I ran to the library to catch up on some important emailing, but I didn’t have time to do a post.

We have candles, of course, and we have a couple of hurricane lamps, oil lamps. We lived by the sun. When it got too dim to see well enough, we lit the candles and lamps. We had a battery-operated radio, so we had the weather, news and NPR. I have a CD player with batteries and some old computer speakers, so I hooked that up and my husband and I continued listing to T. Rufus Fears’ lectures on THE WISDOM OF HISTORY. I managed to read by oil lamp. We cooked at my mother’s house. She has a gas stove and a gas water heater. We grilled out, too, which I love to do, anyway.

Here is a noble old tree that lost a couple of limbs but is still standing. Our youngest daughter used to call this her Wishing Tree. She would go sit under it and wish for things she really wanted, like for her dog to come back after he disappeared. The fact that it didn’t work never changed her devotion to it.

Here is the cat house. Not many women will let their husbands keep one in the back yard, but I’m all about freedom. The wind blew the roof off, but nobody was in it at the time. Charlie says he’s going to dismantle it after this, since the cats never use it any more. Maybe it’s because he keeps garden tools in it, y’think?

For more pictures of our messy, broken trees, you could go to my Flickr Photostream.

MA

writing exercise: Obvious. You are without electric power. How do two or three very different people deal with it–practically and emotionally?

