Got up this morning and made an omelet for Charlie and myself. No mushrooms, alas, but it was good anyway.

Ham and Cheese Omelet

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbs sour cream
  • salt, pepper, marjoram
  • butter
  • ham
  • mild cheddar cheese

Beat the eggs, sour cream, salt, pepper and marjoram. Melt the butter in a skillet that has a lid. Cut up the ham and cook it a bit in the butter, then pour the eggs over it, and sprinkle the cheese on top. Put on the lid and cook on medium low heat until the edges brown and the top is dry. Fold in half.

Charlie and I split this between us.

If you have fresh mushrooms, cook them in a DRY skillet until they’re brown and toasty-smelling, then add the butter, ham, etc.

After breakfast, I helped Charlie put two windows in the office. …Well, okay, HE took the old windows out, brought the new windows up from the basement, made sure the openings fit them perfectly, edged them with insulation, lined the opening with caulk, fitted them in and screwed them in place. But I was the one who went outside and made sure the shims fit into the shim slots. He couldn’t have done it without me.

Then Mom and I went out to lunch with my cousins Paulette and Patricia. They’re so much fun and so kind. We’re very lucky in our relatives. We went to lunch at O’Charley’s, where we found that a school chum of our youngest daughter is now manager there. Yay, Adam! I ended up ordering a cup of loaded potato soup and a dish of artichoke/spinach dip with tortilla chips. Ate all the soup, but the dip was too rich for me.

After we’d visited with the cousins for a couple more hours, I came home and cooked some corn on the cob and mashed potatoes and braised a chicken breast in oregano and spinach. Much nice.

MA

Writing exercise: You go somewhere and find an old school friend of one of your children in a position of responsibility. I’m cheating on this one, because I’ve already written a story using this.

