Mom and I went to Louisville to meet Jean Anne. Jean Anne is my father’s cousin and was Mom’s best friend in high school. She and Mom found each other again a few years ago, and we get together with her a couple of times a year.

So we met at The Olive Garden (salad, Zuppa Toscana and breadsticks). She always tries to have some family stories to tell me, but this time she UNTOLD one.

I said, “Which cousin was it who stole your skates and ran off to join the roller derby?”

She said nobody stole them, her mother gave them to my father’s sister Norma Jean. So, if anybody remembers Norma Jean Turner in the roller derby, that was my aunt.

MA
Writing exercise: In talking with a member of your extended family, you learn the true story behind a family legend.

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

