My baby book clearly states that my first word was not Mama or Dada but MEAT. Still, the stuff at the farmers’ markets this summer have been so good and so various that we’ve been eating a lot of fruit and vegetables. I even–I blush to confess this–have TWICE made bacon-lettuce-tomato sandwiches and later found the bacon still in the microwave. I didn’t even realize I didn’t have the bacon on the sandwich. Of course, I do use a lot of crunchy lettuce, THICK slabs of tomato, slathers of mayonnaise (no salad dressing, PLEASE!) and as many dill pickles as I can pack on. Small wonder a couple little pieces of bacon get lost in that shuffle.

Today, I bought a bunch of bi-color corn and some eggplant. This guy I’ve been buying eggplant from has really spoiled me–I won’t be eating any eggplant over the winter, because they just won’t be as good from the grocery. The eggplants in the grocery are always about the size of footballs, seedy and bitter and woody and tough. Ick. This guy has pretty little eggplants, which sounds kind of dirty, if you say it just the right way. Anyway, I’ll boil all the corn, we eat till we founder, and I’ll freeze the rest.

I’ve been SO LAZY and haven’t made any pesto for the winter. Poor little grasshopper…winter will come and there will be no pesto in my freezer. I’m going out of town for a couple of days, so I’ll have to make some on Friday. Of course, I’ve already let the basil go to seed, but past-prime pesto is better than none at all.

It’s so hot today, I think I’ll bake a little bread in the toaster oven and we’ll have fresh tomatoes, bread, fresh fruit and Camembert for supper. But don’t think I’m a vegetarian, ’cause I’m not!

MA

Writing exercise: You go to a farmers’ market and find there a vegetable you’ve never seen or heard of before. The farmer sees you eyeing it.

