Charlie got some CDs of a lecture series on the lessons of history, and we were listening to a couple of those, so I didn’t want to make anything time- or attention-consuming.

I had gotten a big fat gorgeous sweet potato at the farmers’ market, so I cut that in half and baked half of it. (We split a half of one of these monsters between us–and then Charlie only ate half of his half of our half.)

I peeled and halved an avocado and cut the halves into wedges. I meant to sprinkle the wedges with lime juice, but my lime had dessicated, so I had to use lemon juice. It was still good. Sprinkled with salt and pepper, one half an avocado for each of us.

Garbanzo beans (chickpeas) are a new love, especially this recipe: drain and dry the chickpeas. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and crumpled dried basil. I have a great basil plant just outside the back door, so I grabbed a couple of leaves, put them in the microwave on a paper towel for a couple of minutes, and had instant dried basil. Heat some garlic-flavored olive oil in a skillet, put the chickpeas in and stir until they start to turn brown on the outside. Drain on a paper towel and eat. Also good cold as a snack.

We’re blessed with a multitude of tomatoes this year, so sliced tomatoes finished the menu. MAN, I love summer!

MA

Writing exercise: You go out to the garden to gather something for supper and find something you didn’t expect to find. (I found a kitten in the garden once. A beentsy wee kitten, out in the middle of acres of nowhere.)

