My husband and I went to sit in the Democratic Headquarters last night, during our little town’s Friday Night Band Concert. We were there in case anyone wanted yard signs or information, but also to visit with our friends and wave at the folks passing by. Charlie suggested I bake something to

Banana Nut Date Bread

Banana Nut Date Bread

nosh on. We had a couple of bananas about to go to Jesus, so he suggested banana nut bread. I love dates, so I ended up making banana-nut-date bread. I mixed cream cheese and honey to glop on it, and it was all good.

Here is a picture of what we brought home.

When the band started playing over on the square, I heard the strains of the Star Spangled Banner. Now, I don’t know how you were raised, but I was raised to stand when I hear that. I cannot keep my seat, I don’t care if I’m in church. So I stood up, right in the middle of a conversation. Everybody looked at me. “They’re playing the National Anthem,” I said. They listened and heard it, and we all stood up and put our hands over our hearts. It nearly brought tears to my eyes, but the National Anthem always does that to me.

While we were there, I went to the square and walked around, looking for people I knew, which is a common practice on Band Concert Friday. I did see quite a few people I knew and got a chance to talk with them a little. Saw Debbie and Fred, saw Carol and Daniel, saw Sue.

Here is the recipe:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbs salad oil (I used slightly less)
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 mooshed bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup chopped nuts
  • 1/4 or so chopped pitted dates

Mix all together and bake in greased and floured loaf pan at 350F for about 60-90 minutes, checking for doneness after 50 minutes by sticking a bamboo skewer or toothpick into the center.

MA

Writing Exercise: You’re at a Friday Night Band Concert and you see someone you have strong feelings about, positive or negative. What do you do? Hope he/she doesn’t notice you? Take action?

