Mom and I went to West Baden Spa last week. No, not as guests, as tourists. The place is GORGEOUS! I can’t imagine actually staying there. It probably costs a couple yards a night. Worth it, if you have it, but we don’t have it. The atrium in the center of the building is so big, they actually held a car show in it. Here’s a picture of it, with a child in the center amusing himself by racing from the center to the edge.

West Baden Spa Atrium

West Baden Spa Atrium

This is the kind of thing that blew me away–this kind of detail:

This was just sitting on a side table. Note the reflection of the massive dome.

And this, a light fixture way up on a wall:

I love this stuff.

I just joined the Storybookers Yahoo group, and I couldn’t be more delighted. I stumbled on a book called STORYBOOK STYLE by Arrol Gellner and Douglas Keister a couple of years ago. Storybook Style is hard to define, but easy to recognize. It looks like… well… storybook illustrations. Urban American houses that look like castles or French farmhouses or English cottages. The story is that Disney animators passed an enclave of these houses on their way to the studio and copied them into Snow White.

Well, I’m off to town, where I can get high-speed Internet access. See you there!

Powered by ScribeFire.

