I’ve been juggling what to do about integrating my blog with my web site, so my web site looks like a garage sale, with conflicting design elements…. Embarrassing! I’ll probably just update the content this month and (I hope) get everything cleaned up by September. It would go a lot faster if I had a couple of clues as to what I’m doing, but I’m no web maven. The sad part of that is, I’m webmaster for four sites, including my own. How sad is that? Pretty darn sad, I’d say.

I made Eggplant Parmesan for supper last night. During the summer, that’s one of my favorite dishes. It’s hot and kind of heavy, so I usually don’t have much with it–last night, we had corn on the cob (half a cob each) and a salad of fresh tomatoes and cucumbers. The reason I like it in the summer and not in the winter, when it might be more appropriate, is that I can get eggplant at the farmer’s market. Charlie (the marketeer, not MY Charlie) has the best eggplant ever. They’re never bitter and, if I cook them they same day, the skins are so tender I don’t have to peel them. Here’s my recipe:

Eggplant Parmesan

Slice an eggplant into rounds. Beat together an egg and some milk. Dip the eggplant rounds into this and then dredge them in seasoned breadcrumbs mixed with grated Parmesan cheese (real, not from a cylinder). Pan-fry in corn oil or garlic-flavored olive oil or a mixture of both. Drain on paper towel.

Oil a casserole dish large enough to hold the rounds snugly. Open a can of tomato sauce and season with pepper, chopped garlic or garlic powder, chopped onion or onion powder, basil, oregano and parsley or use bottled Italian recipe sauce. Cover the bottom of the oiled dish with a schmear of this. Cover the bottom of the dish with the eggplant, overlapping the rounds. Cover with the rest of the tomato sauce and sprinkle with Italian cheeses (I use the kind already grated and bagged).

Cover loosely with foil or dish lid and bake at 350F for about 45 minutes. Uncover and continue baking until the cheese browns a little.

We like it.

Powered by ScribeFire.

