I carry a notebook and pen everywhere with me. Yes, yes, partly so I can jot down conversations I overhear, descriptions, settings, plot twists and characters I encounter and think up. Partly, though, so I can copy down recipes I come across.

This past Saturday, I was at World on the Square International Family Fun Fair and, in the food line, I came across something I had to copy down.

This is one of those little finger foods that women think are cute and I usually think are a waste of perfectly good ingredients. Nasty as this may sound, though, I do assure you that it is DELICIOUS.

Bacon Wraps

  • white bread
  • bacon
  • softened cream cheese
  • brown sugar (YES, BROWN SUGAR)

Spread cream cheese on bread. Cut off crusts. Cut bread in half and roll tightly. Wrap with 1/2 slice bacon and secure with toothpick. Roll in brown sugar. Bake at 350F until caramelized. Remove immediately.

When I make these, I’m going to use that pre-cooked bacon, so the bacon will be nice and crispy by the time the brown sugar is caramelized.

I’ve had bread and cream cheese wrapped around asparagus, buttered on the outside and baked, and that’s very good with or without bacon, and I’ve had water chestnuts wrapped in bacon and baked (when I do it, the water chestnuts always crack and break and taste like tin–I’d like to try them with FRESH water chestnuts instead of canned). This beats both, though. And when I say something beats asparagus, you KNOW I like it!

Powered by ScribeFire.

