We had a long-forgotten favorite tonight:  tuna noodle casserole.  I had forgotten how much I like it–creamy and cheesy and packed with bad carbs.  Tuna noodle casserole gets a bad rap, like so many foods us boomers ate in our youth.  I guess anything our mothers or grandmothers put in front of us and made us sit there until we cleaned our plates became automatically uncool.  I was a picky eater as a child, and considered everything but meat and mashed potatoes yucky.  Somewhere in the ’70’s, though, I discovered pizza and instant rice and there was no going back.  Now I’m a dedicated eater, and the old standbys are fine by me.

Tuna Noodle Casserole

small can of tuna, drained
can of condensed cream of mushroom soup (if you’re not from the Midwest, you may substitute fresh mushrooms and cream sauce)

noodles, cooked (spaghetti will do, or macaroni)

peas (canned, if you’re from the Midwest–otherwise, freshly cooked or frozen cooked will do)

grated cheese (if you’re from the Midwest, it should be Velveeta processed cheese in a block cut into small cubes)

crushed crackers

Put all this in a buttered casserole dish and bake at 350F until bubbly, about half an hour.  Sticks to your ribs.

